A 18th century historic Woodhouse in Hopwas Woods
Built in 1940 as a WW2 strategic grain silo between Kidlington and Oxford, the Water Eaton Grain Silo was used up until the 1980s and has remained derelict since. It has had planning permission passed, to enable Ewelme based waste company Grundon, to build an enormous waste processing and recycling plant. Quite a layed back, easy explore, but still fill of industrial gems.
A very tricky explore, tried several times at this one but on our third attempt, we where in. Hams Hall Power Station refers to a series of three, now demolished coal-fired power stations, situated in Warwickshire in the West Midlands of England, 9 miles (14 km) from Birmingham. This building was the control, one of the few remaining structures on the Hams Hall site.
Designed specifically to facilitate three key stages in the production of beer, the Sleaford Bass Maltings represent both a practical and architecturally pleasing group of buildings. Was later used as Padleys to store chickens. The water tower offers an amazing view over Sleaford by night or day. Previous Daytime Shots Photography: Chris Mitchell
Dino Land at Drayton Manor Park and Zoo have been close for a couple of years now as the attraction has been modernised and moved to a different area of the park, the old section does still have a few treasures though.
Farleigh Down is a tunnel connecting the Monkton Farleigh ammunition depot with the main line railway at Ashley. The tunnel is over a mile long and straight. A conveyor belt was used to move the ammunition underground between the top of the hill and the main line. The tunnel is so shallow in some places that it can be seen from across the valley as a strip of dry uncultivated grass. As part of the war effort a large stone quarry in Monkton Farleigh was converted in to an ammunition depot, the depot was situated under a hill top, a mile away and 450 feet above the old quarry stone yard sidings on main GWR line at Ashley, this was the main source of the ammunition. Sidings existed on the site since 1881 when a tramway from the quarry brought stone down the hill for shipment on the GWR. Alternative means of transporting the ammunition was required due to poor road access, this was because by road it was a 4 mile journey through winding lanes between the depot and the sidings. In November 1937 a 300 meter long platform was constructed complete with a narrow gauge tracks to carry the ammunition wagons. Plans to lay a tunnel in to the depot were laid down however the depot needed to be brought in to use so in the meantime work started on a 1.8km long aerial ropeway which carried the ammunition from to a from the sidings up the hill […]