This Halloween we decided to do something a little different. We started the evening with an explore of the asylum, around the admin block, through the church and into the mortuary. This was enough to get us spooked, before setting up our sleeping bags inside one of the cells and settling down for the night. Here is the footage we took that night: Thanks for watching Photos from our previous explores can be found here. A special Thanks to Oliver Cadden for creating this video.
“The tunnel that has been exposed is the tunnel for the mineral line that ran from Hednesford siding on the Cannock -Rugeley line up Green Heath Common (now Pye Green Valley) and was built by the West Cannock Colliery Company Ltd in 1871 to get their coals from No.1 & 4 plants at the top of the common (below Pye Green Valley school) were the new road ends and No.3 plant on the opposite side of Belt Rd to the Bridge Inn hence the name down onto the main line.” Alan Dean, Chairman of the Cannock Chase Mining Historical Society