The station was first used by the Royal Flying Corps in 1916 but was not brought into use for flying until July 1918 by the Royal Air Force. During the inter-war years and continuing through the Second World War until 1950 Upper Heyford was used mainly as a training facility. During the Cold War, Upper Heyford initially served as a base for United States Air Force Strategic Air Command (SAC) strategic bombers and later United States Air Forces In Europe (USAFE) tactical reconnaissance, fighter and fighter-bomber aircraft in the UK. Upper Heyford was unique among bases in the United Kingdom as only the flight-line area required military identification to access. The rest of the base, save the commercial facilities, was accessible to military and non-military alike. Upper Heyford was also unique in that the airspace around the base (from the surface to 3500′) was protected by a mandatory radio area (UHMRA) in which private pilots were required to be in contact with the base controllers on frequency 128.55 when flying past or overhead.
Reed’s Board and Paper Mill at Colthrop near Thatcham was a major local employer. Work started on the main building in 1955 and it was completed in 1958. There is very little left of the premises today, but if you’re passing by and it’s a nice day it’s worth a visit.
Well this was a little surprise - a lovely quaint cottage with all the right ingredients for a good old fashioned mooch. Not too many belongings here, but enough to get the camera out!
Daw Mill mined a five-metre thick section of the Warwickshire Coalfield (known as the Warwickshire Thick) in the north of the county. It was owned and operated by UK Coal and in 2008 employed 680 people. The two shafts that served Daw Mill were first sunk between 1956 and 1959, and 1969 and 1971 respectively. The mine was a natural extension of the former collieries Kingsbury and Dexter Colliery, both of which have also closed. In 1983 an inclined tunnel linking underground workings with the surface was completed. This drift miningenabled Daw Mill to increase its production capacity as it removed the often time-consuming process of winding coal up the shafts. Daw Mill was the last surviving mine in a county that once had 20 operating collieries.
Not much to go on here! Lots of fire damage and graffiti in this old place but thought it would be worth a visit before they pulled it down. Also made a hasty exit when we came across a couple of punch bags, chairs and a few big speakers. Seems like someone was getting ready for something!
Not much to go on at this site apart from the fact that it has taken on multiple uses over the years and undergone rebuilding and layout as businesses have changed hands. Nice to see some original features still exist.
For over a hundred years IKO has produced innovative solutions for flat roofs, pitched roofs and the waterproofing industry - using asphalt and bitumen.