This place seemed a no go area until we came across an opening at the last minute. Fascinating explore and the amount of chemicals left behind was unspeakable. However on exit to the van from the chemistry labs we were accosted by a really annoyed and ferocious grounds man who had an extremely colourful vocabulary. He also demanded that I remove and delete all pictures that I had taken, which I did immediately . . . . . So here they are – Enjoy!
Constructed between 1875 and 1876, this is the third Welsh Calvinist chapel to have been built in Newtown. Designed by the famous Liverpool architect Richard Owens, and built at a cost of £2300, the chapel was constructed in the gothic style. The front elevation is in squared masonry and sandstone dressings with a central door and two buttresses to the main gable (from which spirelets have been removed). The remainder is in yellow brick beneath a slated roof to a tiled ridge. It probably seated about 450 people but is now in a sad state of disrepair, the holes in the roof have lead to some major rot to one side of the building.
This lovely old church was found purely by accident and was given away by the smart water stickers all over the sealed front door. However, on finding the classic Urbexer’s back door it revealed to hold a lot of fascinating features and artifacts and a lovely set of bells in the bell tower. Coincidently, on leaving, a local passerby informed me that the church closed in 1972 and the final service was a christening. She should know too – as it was her daughter’s.
This synagogue was designed by architect Alfred Ernest Shennan, famous for designing many cinemas in the area. The foundation stone was laid on 14th June 1936 by Baron Tobias Globe in the presence of Dr J.H. Hertz, the chief Rabbi of the British Emire at the time. The building was consecrated on 15th August 1937. During the Second World War the synagogue became a refuge for families who had been rendered homeless by heavy bombing during the Blitz. Over the years eventually the congregation dwindled in size until there were less than 40 regular worshippers and only one service per week so on January the 8th 2007, the doors finally closed after almost 70 years. The building was already listed but in 2008 the status was upgraded to a Grade II listing. English Heritage agreed the change after plans were filed which proposed to convert the concrete, steel and brick building into apartments. The listing report describes the synagogue as “one of the finest art deco synagogues in the country”, and the upgrading puts the synagogue in the top 5% of all listed buildings in the UK at this time.
The Caynton Caves, hidden in dense woodland near Wolverhampton, have a rich history stemming back to the 17th century when they were apparently carved out of sandstone by followers of the Knights Templar. In the past, the landowners have tried to be accommodating when sects, good or evil, have asked permission to use the site. Their patience began running thin when, over Christmas, they found the caves had been filled with candles, sinister symbols scrawled on the walls and rubbish. But the final straw came when they answered the door to two red-faced warlocks who had the cheek to ask for the return of their robes which had been used in the black magic ceremony. Dominic Wass, an urban artist who has a workshop on the site, said: ‘There’s definitely some strange stuff gone on down there. It’s surreal to have two warlocks knock on your door, but at least they asked.’ Inside the caves, mystic sigils (seals) competed for crowded wall space with more modern scrawled messages, written by youths who have turned the temple into a drinking den The site ranks alongside Castle Ring, a public Stone Age monument near Cannock Wood, Staffordshire, which has become a hotspot for Druids. Solstice and Halloween pose particular problems at Caynton. One Halloween bonfire party for local children was interrupted when trespassing worshippers, alerted by smoke, spilled out from the cave. Mr Wass said: ‘Very little is known about why they are there. There are all kinds […]
An 18th Century Grotto in the former grounds of a British manor house. The entrance to the cavern is through a maze of arched passages leading to a square anti-chamber carved out of solid rock, at the far end is a concave recess with a pedistal resembeling a Roman altar. Another passage leads to a round chamber with a domed roof and classical pillars carved into the wall. Local legend has it that it was built by the family of the hall as a hiding place for one of its members who was a murderer. Others say it was used for secret pagan rituals or some diabolical cult. The reasons for the use of this temple still mystify archaeologists to this day.
An abandoned graveyard, untended for many years. some graves have become so unsound they have collapsed revealing the brick lined crypts below, giving the impression the dead themselves have risen and forced open the ground. Very creepy feeling in this place.
“Only the soaring tower is seen from afar. Yet to approach it and enter its windowless hulk is a powerful architectural experience. It stands high on a shoulder above the road, from which a long flight of steps wanders up to the towering front. The building was reported in 1958 to be suffering from severe subsidence and structural defects, which the substitution of flat concrete roofs failed to cure. It was closed c. 1980”
St. Peter’s Seminary is a disused Roman Catholic seminary near Cardross, Argyll and Bute, Scotland. Designed by the firm of Gillespie, Kidd and Coia, it has been described by the international architecture conservation organisation DOCOMOMO as a modern “building of world significance”. It is one of only 42 post-war buildings in Scotland to be listed at Category A, the highest level of protection for a building of “special architectural or historic interest”. It has been abandoned since the end of the 1980s, and is currently in a ruinous state. Despite a number of proposals for reuse or renovation of the building, its future remains insecure.
Jameah Islameah School was an independent Islamic school in East Sussex. The school was located on a 54 acre site and had residential facilities to house male students aged 11 to 16. The school was independently owned and the proprietor functioned as the principal. In December, 2005, Jameah Islameah was inspected by the Office for Standards in Education which noted that it “does not provide a satisfactory education for its pupils.” At the time of the inspection, the school had nine students. According to BBC News the school purported to teach students to become Islamic leaders, training them to the level high enough to teach in local Masajeds and Madares. There had been allegations that the school was used in the training and recruitment of terrorists. According to testimony from Al Qaeda suspects held at Guantanamo Bay, in 1997 and 1998, Abu Hamza[disambiguation needed] and groups of around 30 of his followers held terrorist training camps at the school, including training with AK47 rifles and handguns, as well as a mock rocket launcher. In 2003 or 2004, the grounds of the school were used for an Islamic-themed camping trip, at which Omar Bakri Mohammed lectured. The trip, which was advertised by word-of-mouth, was attended by 50 Muslim men, most of whom were members of al-Muhajiroun. Bakri claimed the activities at the camp included lectures on Islam, football, and paintballing. On 1 September 2006 the Jameah Islameah school was searched by up to a hundred police officers as part of their […]
Set in the Malvern Hills, the school’s location owes much to Malvern’s emergence in the nineteenth century as a fashionable spa resort, appreciated for its unpolluted air and the healing qualities of its famous spring water. The school opened its doors for the first time in January 1865. Initially, there were only about twenty four boy pupils, six teachers and two houses but its expansion was rapid. In 1875, there were 200 boys on the Roll and five boarding houses ; by the end of the 19th century, the numbers had risen to more than 400 boys and ten houses. American poet Henry Longfellow visited the school in 1868, Prince and Princess Christian on speech-day in 1870 and The Duke and Duchess of Teck visited in 1891 with their daughter, Princess May (later Queen Mary). Lord Randolph Churchill’s speech-day comments on education in 1889 were reported in the Times. The school was one of the twenty four Public Schools listed in the Public Schools Yearbook of 1889. Further expansion of pupil numbers and buildings continued between the end of the First World War in 1918 and the start of the Second World War in 1939. During the two Wars, 457 and 258 former pupils, respectively, gave their lives. Seven former pupils were among ‘the few’ who took part in the Battle of Britain. Following the onset of World War II, the College premises were requisitioned by the Admiralty between October 1939 and July 1940, with the result that the school […]